top of page

The Finish Line


The finish line is in sight. As I write this blog, there are currently 5 days remaining in the 2017-2018 school year. The months of April and May were incredible as snow is beginning to melt and the sun is with us all day long. Let’s just jump right in to what I’ve been up to…

Sled Dogs

We had the privilege of having the Kobuk 440 dog teams coming through Shungnak as one of their checkpoints. "The Kobuk 440 is not just about racing sled dog teams throughout the harsh environment of Northwestern Alaska. While the race is considered to be one of the toughest dogsled races currently being run, it also provides considerable excitement for the residents and children of Shungnak." All day long teams ran through the center of town, stopping only to refresh and complete an inspection. I always knew a team was coming through as students would start piling up at the windows and in the hallway as another team passed by outside during the school day. After school, I went to the store and was lucky enough to catch two dog teams come through. I definitely got up close and personal shots. The community comes out to support this event and uses it as a chance to socialize.

The high school was reading the book Ice Dogs by Terry Lynn Johnson which coincided perfectly with the Kobuk 440 race happening in their own front yards. I was able to contact the author, Terry Johnson, and scheduled a Skype interview session. The kids loved it and had many questions for the guest speaker who was a dog sled racer herself.

Military Visit

The military reserve officers arrived in Shungnak the following week, bringing excitement and great assistance to the villagers. We had doctors, dentists, and veterinarians supplying their services for no cost to the villagers. Let me tell you there is no such thing as a “normal” school week in Shungnak. We had dogs in the hallways for the vet stationed in one of the classrooms and piles of sleeping bags in the hallway that belonged to the visiting military personnel. They all slept in our classrooms during the week. One of the visiting ladies had birthday during her stay. The kids sang “Happy Birthday” to her and she ended up crying and thanking us for her time in Shungnak; many of them had never been above the arctic circle before. At the end of the week, there was a fundraiser basketball game. It was the Shungnak villagers against the military men. I watched the first two quarters and the military guys were getting slaughtered. At half time, I asked if I could join them to which they replied “absolutely!”

Now, I was never a basketball guy myself growing up, but I’ve been playing with the community all year so let’s just say I developed some moves. Another teacher joined me and together the military guys came back for the victory in the 4th quarter by one point. The villagers definitely had all the skill and probably should have won but the military team had 2 teams subbing out every few minutes. I think we just outran the natives, haha. Nevertheless, it was all smiles and high fives as the fundraiser was a huge success.

I had a wonderful time just walking around the village and taking pictures. The weather has been in the 30’s which is truly a heatwave. You may think I’m joking but 38 degrees is legitimately HOT. It’s crazy how your body adjusts itself. I’m a bit wary about visiting my parents in Atlanta and suffering in 90 degree weather, haha. The sunshine is out and the snow is melting. Kids are playing until midnight outside on the playground. One night I went outside to find a group playing basketball at around 11:00pm.

The month of May is called Si-Kuig-Vik in Inupiaq meaning Ice Break Up. With the month of May comes the great fun of “punching”. “Punching” is the term for punching through melting snow. The snow is no longer packed thick enough to hold you up and occasionally you’re hit with a surprise. This usually means your leg falls through the snow and you end up falling on your face. Sometimes both feet “punch” through and you’re up to your waist. Onlookers tend to laugh and mock you as you try to crawl out of the giant hole you made for yourself.

I’m captivated by the beauty of the tundra and sights of the village. Here are a few shots:

(4 Wheeler stuck in the snow)

It’s hard for me to end this blog. An entire year has gone by and this concludes my adventure above the arctic circle. I want to let my readers know that while I’m not returning to Shungnak next year, I’ll still be in Alaska. I have plans on working on Kodiak Island at their local high school. The year has had its challenges but instead of focusing on those I want to end my blog with what the village of Shungnak has taught me:

  1. Be Quiet and Slow Down – Life is short and often cluttered with busy schedules and distractions. There is something so refreshing about village life in that it’s so simple. I’m not inundated or overwhelmed by advertisements, technology, arguments, and petty problems. I’ve learned to slow down my speech and my perspective of life. Take in every moment. Absorb the beauty around you. Sometimes you say more to the person next to you by being with them instead of talking at them. This year was a time for me to learn to be content with what I have in a very true sense.

  2. God’s blessing – The realization of how extremely blessed I am has never been more apparent to me this year. A loving family, growing up with my experiences, my education, my natural abilities, a personal relationship with Jesus Christ, all of these things are so easy to take for granted. The opportunities available to me were graciously provided for me by parents who wanted me to not only become the best me I could be but also to bring glory to God.

  3. Victory is not instant – Looking back on the year it is incredibly easy to become depressed with academic results. Kids are still below grade-level. Most struggle to read. What difference did I truly make? I was reminded by another veteran teacher that results are never instant. It may be 30 years before there is fruit from our labor and often we as teachers will never know our impact on our students. This year I’ve learned to find the small successes. If all I ever look at is the mountain my students are facing, I’ll never see the hills they are conquering.

  4. Be Strong – I’ve spent the past few months reading through the books of Samuel and 1 Kings about the life of King David. David’s final words for Solomon are that he “be strong, act like a man, and walk in obedience.” What really hit me was the next verse where David says that to truly have a prosperous life one must do this wherever they are, even in Shungnak, a place totally out of my comfort level where trials and challenges are numerous. This year, I learned to rely on God in a deeper sense. I also learned that there is more to teaching than academics. As a Christian, it is also my responsibility to teach through example by showing students what it means to possess unshakable hope and enduring joy.

Thank you for joining me on this year-long expedition. Continue to keep the village of Shungnak in your prayers. With this final chapter of my blog, I encourage you to take a step out of your comfort zone. Living for God isn't supposed to be easy or convenient. Go on an adventure. Meet new people. Impact lives. Show Christ.

bottom of page